Easy 20 minute Pork Chops with Plum sauce, ginger and lime juice.

Some days, you just don’t have the energy or  feel like spending an hour cooking your meal. Well, yesterday was such a day for me. On days like this, I am thankful for having my staple sauces standing ready in my pantry. One of my favourite is Chinese Plum sauce, and I especially like to use it when I cook pork. There are many brands of plum sauce out there, but I have always used the one shown below as it’s a popular brand in my home country, Singapore.

This dish needs only 5 min prep time, and around 10 min cooking time. It will be ideal if you plan ahead and let the meat marinade in the sauce for 4 hours or even overnight. But because the sauce is strong in flavor with plum sauce and honey, I think it will be okay if you have no time to marinade your meat and have to cook it right away. If that’s the case, baste the pork chop with the marinade as you cook, and cook the remaining marinade after you have finished pan-frying the meat, and use it as the sauce for the pork chops.

Recipe for Pork Chops with Plum sauce, ginger and lime juice.

Ingredients:

4 pieces of pork chop (about 1 pound)

3-4 tbsp Chinese plum sauce

2 tbsp honey

1 tbsp ginger juice (This link here shows you how to extract ginger juice. Or, you can buy bottled ginger juice from supermarkets, which is what I did.)

1 tbsp lime juice

1 – 1 1/5 tsp light soy sauce

Method:

Mix the plum sauce, honey, ginger juice, lime juice and light soy sauce together. Have a taste and add more or less honey or lime juice as suited to your taste. Marinade the pork in the mixture for at least 4 hours or overnight.

Heat oil in pan. Pan fry pork 3-4 min on each side till nicely browned. Serve with hot jasmine rice.

That’s it! I sautéed some kale with garlic and my dinner was ready in 20 minutes!


2 thoughts on “Easy 20 minute Pork Chops with Plum sauce, ginger and lime juice.

Leave a Reply

