Martha Stewart’s Chocolate Crackles (Recipe)

I love to eat cookies and before I started baking, Pepperidge Farm cookies are my favourite. They still taste great to me, but really, once I started to bake, nothing tastes better than freshly-baked cookies, and I love how the whole house smells like cookies. 🙂 I tried a few recipes that I found online before but they didn’t turn out all that great and I thought it was due to my poor baking skills. However, after trying out Martha Stewart’s Cookies cookbook, I am convinced that sometimes, all you need is really a good recipe! So don’t give up! For the longest time I thought I was just cursed and could never produce a decent baked good. Well, this was the first cookie I tried baking from her book and my first attempt. If I can do it, so can you! By the way, I highly recommend this book. I have tried 3 recipes so far and all have turned out looking pretty and tasted great. I can’t wait to share these recipes with you! The first one I’ll be sharing today is Martha Stewart’s Chocolate Crackles. 

Chocolate Crackles (from Martha Stewart’s Cookies)

Makes about 5 dozen

Ingredients:

8 ounces bittersweet chocolate, finely chopped.

1 1/4 cups all purpose flour

1/2 cup unsweetened Dutch-process cocoa powder

2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp coarse salt

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature

1 1/2 cups packed light brown sugar

2 large eggs

1 tsp pure vanilla extract

1/3 cup whole milk

1 cup granulated sugar

1 cup confectioner’s sugar

Method:

Melt chocolate in a heatproof bowl set over a pan of simmering water, stirring. Set aside and let cool. Sift together flour, cocoa powder, baking powder and salt in a bowl.

With an electric mixer, beat butter and brown sugar on medium speed until pale and fluffy, 2-3 minutes. Mix in eggs and vanilla, and then the melted chocolate. Reduce speed to low; mix in flour mixture in two batches, alternating with the milk. Divide dough into four equal pieces, wrapping each in plastic. Refrigerate until firm, about 2 hours.

Preheat oven to 350 deg F/180 deg C. Divide each piece of dough into sixteen 1-inch balls. Roll in granulated sugar to coat, then in confectioners’ sugar to coat. Space 2 inches apart on baking sheets lined with parchment paper.

Bake until surfaces crack, about 14 minutes, rotating sheets halfway through. Let cookies cool on sheets on wire racks. They can then be stored in between layers of parchment in airtight containers at room temperature or up to 3 days.

Tip: If you are ,unfortunately like me, the only person in the household with a sweet-tooth unable to finish so much cookies, you can freeze them . After you have shaped and rolled them in sugar. place the raw balls of dough in a single layer on a waxed paper-lined cookie sheet/plate. Cover and freeze for 20 to 30 minutes or until firm. Then quickly transfer frozen balls to an airtight container and line each layer of dough balls with waxed paper. They can be frozen up to 2 months.

I have actually tried freezing the baked cookies too (because 16 cookies is still too many for me to finish in 3 days). I just pop one into the microwave to reheat whenever I feel like it. That works too! 🙂

   

  

    
  
   

Leave a Reply

