Volodos’ Transcription of Turkish March played by Yuja Wang. 

Saw a clip on Classic FM’s Facebook page a video clip of pianist Yuja Wang playing Arcadi Volodos’ crazy-difficult transcription of Mozart’s Turkish March. Read somewhere that this piece actually covers all 88 keys on the piano! I am a little embarrassed to say I have never heard of this piece until today, and I thought it was superb! I know there are many who dislike it but I think it would be missing the point to compare it with the original Turkish March and say which is better.

Watch Yuja Wang’s superb playing here. I think this clip is very aptly titled ‘House of flying fingers’.

2 thoughts on “Volodos’ Transcription of Turkish March played by Yuja Wang. 

Leave a Reply

