Want a quick dessert tonight? Try Gordon Ramsay’s Bread and Butter Pudding. (Recipe) 

I love desserts. And Friday nights. I like to think that meals on Friday nights should be a little more special – kind of a way to celebrate the approaching weekend, and a nice home-made dessert was that little extra special thing I wanted to do this Friday.

I envisioned something sweet, warm and fresh-out-of the-oven for dessert, but I didn’t have the time to spend hours on making one dessert. Baking cakes, pies and biscuits was out; I just didn’t feel like putting in so much work. So I turned to Mr Gordon Ramsay for some inspiration, and his Bread and Butter Pudding recipe caught my eye. Perfect. One of those just-put-everything-in-a-bowl-and-throw-it-in-the-oven kind of recipes. My favourite kind of recipe. 🙂 

The only thing I couldn’t find in that ingredient list was pain au chocolat.  I substituted those with plain croissants easily found in any supermaket and semi-sweet chocolate chips. After preparing my dinner, I put and arranged everything needed in the baking dish. That took me less than 15 min. I then put it into the oven to bake for 40 min while I ate my dinner. When I have finished my dinner and loaded the dishes in the dishwasher, my bread and butter pudding was done! Perfect timing.

This bread and butter pudding is a little different from the usual ones I ate. Certainly not as wet, and judging from the picture in the recipe book, I think it was meant to be like this. Give it a try and let me know if yours turned out a little different! My husband actually like this texture a lot more and says this was one of the best bread pudding he has tasted. Okay, granted, he doesn’t eat that much bread pudding, hey, but still… Anyway, this is one dessert I will make again because it is so quick, easy and delicious!

   

 

Bread and Butter Pudding Recipe (as it is, From Gordon Ramsay’s Home Cooking cookbook.)

Ingredients:

3 1/2 tbsp softened butter, plus extra to grease baking dish

2-3 tbsp apricot jam

6 pain au chocolat (I substituted these with plain croissants and semi-sweet baking chocolate chips)

1-2 tbsp ground cinnamon

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup golden raisins

2 cups whole milk (I used 2% fat milk)

1/2 cup heavy cream

6 eggs

2 vanilla pods, seed scraped out (Didn’t have those. Just used about 1 tsp vanilla essence)

Method:

Preheat oven to 350 deg F. Lightly butter a 9 x 7 baking dish.

Heat the jam in a pan over low heat for a few minutes and then set it aside.

Butter the slices of pain au chocolat on one side. Place them in a large bowl and set aside. Sprinkle about 2 teaspoon of the cinnamon into the buttered baking dish along with 2 tablespoons of the sugar and all of the raisins. Pour most of the melted jam, reserving a small amount for glazing at the end.

Whisk together the milk, cream, eggs, vanilla seeds (or in my case, vanilla essence) and 1 teaspoon of the cinnamon and pour half of this mixture over the bread. When it has soaked in slightly, arrange the bread in the baking dish such that the bread is overlapping. Continue layering the bread until all the pieces have been used, then pour over the rest of the egg mixture and scatter the surface with the remaining sugar and a light dusting of cinnamon.

Place in the pre-heated oven and bake for 35-40 min until golden.

To serve, brush the pudding with the reserved melted jam and serve immediately.

3 thoughts on “Want a quick dessert tonight? Try Gordon Ramsay’s Bread and Butter Pudding. (Recipe) 

Leave a Reply

