A cup of heaven every evening. My new love – Chocolate tea.

Okay. So this isn’t really a recipe, but I really want to share this with you. I’m a tea-drinker and I always have at least 15 flavors of tea on my shelf at any time. (Yeah! I bet some of you can identify with that tea-collecting obsession and perhaps have even more!) While ‘window-shopping’ on Amazon one evening, I came across Tisano’s chocolate tea blends. The first thought that came to me wasn’t “Mmm! Delicious!” but rather a tentative “Hmm…”.  I have tried chocolate tea before. Republic of Tea’s Peppermint Chocolate was the first and only chocolate tea I have tried up till then. It wasn’t love at at first taste, and it was only after the 3rd mug that I learnt to love it. I was really tempted after reading the raving reviews, and I thought, Hmm..$11..Okay, I suppose it won’t be an expensive mistake even if I don’t like it.

Wow, I’m happy to say I AM SO GLAD I did buy it. When I first opened the tin, the fresh aroma of cacao shells wafted out and I think I felt 10x happier already. There are no words to describe the state of bliss I felt on my first sip. The world is right. Everything will be alright. That was how I felt, no kidding. It tastes very chocolate-ty, like you are eating expensive, fine chocolate. Really, I have not tasted tea that made me felt so happy. I must have repeated to my husband “OH MY GOD. This tastes so good!” at least 10 times before finishing my tiny 8oz cup of tea.

Please don’t expect this to be creamy hot chocolate though. I don’t really know how to describe it. You taste so much chocolate, yet what you feel in your mouth isn’t heavy, creamy, sticky or chewy. But in no way does this make me feel dissatisfied. If you have tried chocolate tea before, you really have to try this. I ordered a second tin after that first cup. I’m not kidding. I would really want to try the other flavors too – Chocolate Vanilla, Chocolate Mint, Chocolate Rose etc. I taste more chocolate in Tisano’s chocolate tea than in Republic of Tea’s Peppermint Chocolate or Strawberry Chocolate (which I later bought). I also tried making a Chocolate Tea Latte with it by foaming up the milk with a stick frother. It became a great Chocolate milk alternative!

And now, on most nights, my chocolate tea replaces the chocolate I usually eat as dessert after dinner. Great way to take some calories out too, don’t you think?

Leave a Reply

